Home » Rant » Games Building Brains

Games Building Brains

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 647 other followers

Blogs I Follow

I am a huge fan of video games, and I have a theory about them.

Gaming_1

I believe video games can be used as a gateway to other worlds. Not in the physical sense, but as a psychological phenomenon.

Let me back up a little bit. I grew up with video games. Being an only child in a military family, I lived and breathed them for most of my childhood. They granted me a way to become something totally different than myself. They allowed me to take up a cause and put forth effort to make that cause become a reality. At least in the little world on my screen.

There is a stipulation attached to video games that nothing good can come out of them. They are strictly for entertainment and have no academic or philosophical value. This is absolutely not true.

This prejudice is finally being fought today, with studies showing that video games actually CAN make you smarter.

http://www.cnn.com/2011/TECH/gaming.gadgets/01/31/video.games.smarter.steinberg/index.html

http://www.slideshare.net/lgillispie/video-games-as-learning-tools-in-the-classroom

http://www.marcprensky.com/writing/prensky%20-%20what%20kids%20learn%20thats%20positive%20from%20playing%20video%20games.pdf

Not only do they improve critical thinking, but they also give hands on experience in situations you would otherwise never be in.

This is the point I am trying to get to. Video games give consumers the ability to engage and immerse themselves in completely different universes that live by different rules and different standards. Not only is this an exercise in adaptation, but it is also a creative outlet for the mind.

It is almost like dreaming, where anything is possible, except guided and scoped in a way that is easily understandable. In more passive forms of entertainment you are pushed through a story until you get to the end. It is fun to watch, but you don’t have the ability to immerse yourself to the same level as a game.

I remember being a kid and becoming so in-tune with the game that I really felt like the character. When I put the game down, I still felt like I had a mission that I needed to get back to. In this instance, I was no longer playing it to be entertained, I was playing it to accomplish something.

That may not seem like a big deal, but think about it for a second. I had nothing to lose by not accomplishing that virtual goal, but I FELT like I would lose if I didn’t.

That is an insane paradigm shift. I was learning how to become a different person. I was guided, through repeated association, to look through life from another person’s eyes.

Video games should be ranked the number one learning tool known to man. They give you real, immediate, and critical feedback on almost any situation you want to learn about. Even if some of the situations are surreal in nature, that does not mean they do not have value.

If aliens invaded the Earth right now, I would have experience learned from a dozen different games on how to handle it. It would be like I had lived multiple past lives dealing with this specific situation. That may seem a little far-fetched, but it is true. Halo, DeadSpace, Mass Effect, I have memories from each of these games on how to handle multiple types of alien life-forms.

Since our brain learns and adapts through memories, isn’t that the same thing as having actually done it?

Looking at games in this way gives a million possibilities on how we could use this to better the human race. It also shows me a million ways it can go wrong.

My dad always says, “Garbage In, Garbage Out”. I didn’t understand that concept until I was older. I love the Grand Theft Auto series, but there are no true repercussions when you do something awful like kill a cop or rob a store. You would either get away from the police or you would die and be reborn again. This gives people the memory of having committed a crime and having gotten away with it. In reality there are serious legal penalties, but what is being supplanted into the minds of millions of people is that there are not.

Taking what we know about memories, you can see why this would be a problem. My dad was dead on with his saying. What one puts into his mind will one day come out. Especially when it is installed through video games.

So while the possibilities are endless, they are infinite in both directions. Either good or bad, it is up to you.

As for me, I am going to go be the good guy.

(By the way, if you go to all of those links above I will bake you a cookie)

Leave a Reply

Tweetastic

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

AAYC Blog

Amarillo Activity Youth Center

VentureBeat

News About Tech, Money and Innovation

Life + Times

Ellen's Saga of Friendship, Business, Growing Up, Love, and Trying to Make it in the World

Corporate Conspiracies

Essays&Articles

lennyesq

The Sienko Law Office

Jennifer Monje

Let's get started.

Poor David's Almanack

Ideas, Thoughts, and my take on all things communication as well as the technology that evolves it

usmanhashmi

Die Hard Supporter of PaK Sar Zameen Party

New York's PIX11 / WPIX-TV

New York News, Weather, Entertainment, Transit and More

maryraupublicrelations

Just another WordPress.com site

ESL Crystal

Teaching ESL and Planning a Conference

Novo Consultancy

Novo: to make anew, refresh, revive, change, alter, invent.

THE YOUNG MARKETER

A student's guide to marketing news, resources, tips & tricks on how to develop personal brand and separate yourself from the 99%.

Online Marketing

Your business, is our Business

Son of Sappho

Freelance Writer

Natacha Maheshe

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value - A. Einstein

Richard Bernich | Marketing Minute

The Official Guide to Marketing by Richard Bernich

Beyond PR

Engage Opportunity Everywhere

Tech

News and reviews from the world of gadgets, gear, apps and the web

