Home » Social Media » Escaping the Tweetosphere

Escaping the Tweetosphere

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 647 other followers

Blogs I Follow

Twitter has become a great venue for people to get important events into the public light. It is also a great way to get good consumer dialogue directly between customers and brands.

But now it is becoming a massive monster.

I try to post pretty regularly on my Twitter, but by the time I post anything there are already 7 immediately after mine. That means my average follower has to read through 7 tweets just to see mine.

That is insane. I posted my tweet 20 seconds ago and 10 other people have jumped on top of mine.

In just 20 seconds.

And that’s on a good day.

To get your tweet read anymore you have to tag 6 people and have it retweeted 12 times to get any visualization on it.

It only gets worse every day with more and more people joining the site.

Twitter is simple, user friendly, and fun. But now with the virtual overcrowding it is starting to become a victim of its own success.

Eventually there will just be TOO much information being thrown out, and people are going to start getting overloaded.

I know I am.

2 Comments

  1. David Gisch says:

    Hey Alex! I might have misunderstood your post, but you could clarify this for me. I have always been under the impression that the “problem” you are describing in this post doesn’t have anything to do with your followers persay, but in fact the people you are following. You seem to be talking about trying to go down and find your own post, in your own feed. Which is populated by the tweets that are published by the people you are following. In essence, the problem you are describing is a symptom of a Twitter power user. In trying to match follows with people you are drowning your own tweets in the feed being produced by the people you follow.

    Awesome blog, keep up the good work.
    David Gisch – @djgisch

    • Ahh yes I should have clarified that more. I just meant to use myself as a prime example of how many tweets go through a normal person’s feed. I have 60 followers, but I can almost guarantee that they are following over 100 other people besides me. When those people post, especially at the same time, my post becomes irrelevant because it is swamped under the other information that was posted after mine. Like someone I follow that I really like might have posted something extremely relevant to my life, but if it was posted 10 minutes before I logged in I might never see it because it is buried under 100 tweets in my feed. I could go to their page, but if I never knew the content existed in the first place I wouldn’t know to go. I just think that unless you have under 50 following you are getting swamped with information that you really aren’t processing.

      I really appreciate you reading this David and if you have any comments or questions on any of my other blogs feel free to hit me up on here or in class sometime.

Leave a Reply

Tweetastic

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

AAYC Blog

Amarillo Activity Youth Center

VentureBeat

News About Tech, Money and Innovation

Life + Times

Ellen's Saga of Friendship, Business, Growing Up, Love, and Trying to Make it in the World

Corporate Conspiracies

Essays&Articles

lennyesq

The Sienko Law Office

Jennifer Monje

Let's get started.

Poor David's Almanack

Ideas, Thoughts, and my take on all things communication as well as the technology that evolves it

usmanhashmi

Die Hard Supporter of PaK Sar Zameen Party

New York's PIX11 / WPIX-TV

New York News, Weather, Entertainment, Transit and More

maryraupublicrelations

Just another WordPress.com site

ESL Crystal

Teaching ESL and Planning a Conference

Novo Consultancy

Novo: to make anew, refresh, revive, change, alter, invent.

THE YOUNG MARKETER

A student's guide to marketing news, resources, tips & tricks on how to develop personal brand and separate yourself from the 99%.

Online Marketing

Your business, is our Business

Son of Sappho

Freelance Writer

Natacha Maheshe

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value - A. Einstein

Richard Bernich | Marketing Minute

The Official Guide to Marketing by Richard Bernich

Beyond PR

Engage Opportunity Everywhere

Tech

News and reviews from the world of gadgets, gear, apps and the web

